Contact Inclusive Childhood Education

Katrina Arndt, Chair of Department of Undergraduate Inclusive Education (DUIE)
Office: RCW 109
Phone: (585) 385-7215

News Detail

“Education Celebration” Honors Graduating Seniors, Alumni


“Education Celebration” Honors Graduating Seniors, Alumni

On Thursday, April 19, the St. John Fisher College Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. School of Education held an “Education Celebration” to recognize and celebrate the College’s support for education, educators, and community leadership. Graduating seniors, graduate candidates, and alumni were honored at the event.

Three new distinguished alumni awards were given to alumni who exemplify the School of Education’s highest values of diversity, achievement, compassion, knowledge, and service.

The Distinguished Alumnus in Teaching Award honors an alumnus who exemplifies the highest standards of teaching. This year’s recipient is Julie Steehler, a teacher at Buckman Heights Elementary School in the Greece Public School District.

Education Celebration

The Distinguished Alumnus in Educational Leadership honors an alumnus of the Educational Leadership program who has a distinguished career in leading schools toward excellence. The recipient is Dr. Lesli Myers, Assistant Superintendent of Student Services for the Ithaca City School District.

Education Celebration

And the Distinguished Alumnus in Executive Leadership honors an alumnus of the Doctorate in Executive Leadership program who has gained distinction in his/her career for extraordinarily effective leadership through applied scholarship in professions including health, criminal justice, education, government, and community service. The inaugural recipient is Dr. James P. Colt, Coordinator of School Safety and Security at Monroe #1 BOCES. Colt is also a school board member for the Avon Central School District, and a co-author of several books on cyberbullying.

Education Celebration

Eleven members of the Class of 2012 were also honored with awards.

The Outstanding Childhood Education Student Teacher Award is given to a candidate who demonstrated that he/she will lead a distinguished career and be a leader in a diverse, rapidly changing, and increasingly technological society through his/her coursework and fieldwork. The recipient also utilized exemplary knowledge, skills, and dispositions to have a great impact on student learning during student teaching. This year’s recipients were Jennifer Cutie and Danielle Goolsby, childhood special education majors.

The Excellence in Preparation to Teach English Award honors a candidate for his/her outstanding coursework, capstone project, and student teaching in English. Benjamin Cobbett, an adolescence education major, received the award.

The Excellence in Capstone Research Award is given to a candidate who has written a high quality literature review, developed a creative and/or innovative action research project, and completed action research that will help expand the field of special education. The 2012 recipient was Machenzie Tuchrelo, a special education major.

The Excellence in Preparation to Teach Social Studies Award is given to a candidate who has displayed outstanding coursework, capstone project, and student teaching in social studies. Corey Nicholson, an adolescence education major, received the honor.

There were two recipients of the Dr. Ronald Edmonds Award, which is given to a graduating candidate who has demonstrated significant progress in meeting the goals and standards of the Master of Science in Educational Leadership program, and who exemplifies the characteristics of leaders in effective schools. Julie Stark and John Swick received this year’s award.

The Distinguished Leadership Award was also given to two recipients, and recognizes candidates who have distinguished themselves through significant contributions to class discussions and group projects, and exemplify the attributes and values of effective leadership. The award was given to Daniel McAlpin and Bridget Jurkowski, students in the educational leadership program.

The Leadership in Literacy Award recognizes an individual who engages in a way of thinking that creates meaningful and enduring change. The award was given to Abbie Wyman, a literacy education major.

And the final award given was the Teacher as Researcher Award. This award is given to a candidate who conducted an exceptional action research project that addressed a significant issue in literacy. Clinton DePew, a literacy education major, received the award.

Map & DirectionsA-Z Site IndexPeople Directory

Copyright © St. John Fisher College • 3690 East Avenue, Rochester, New York 14618 • (585) 385-8000
Questions/Comments? - Email the Webmaster Website Terms of Use