News Detail

Wegmans School of Pharmacy Holds Hooding, Presents Awards


Wegmans School of Pharmacy Holds Hooding, Presents Awards

The Wegmans School of Pharmacy held its hooding ceremony for 77 graduates on May 9, and honored 30 of them with additional prestigious awards.

The winners included:

Deans Circle Award – Given to students whose GPA was in the top 10% of the class.

Recipients: Janene Bonacci, Kristin Haas, Lara Kratochwill, Na Li, Tia Lum, Alyssa Pignato, David Verdine, and Katie Viele.

Teva Outstanding Achievement Award – Given to a student who demonstrated outstanding achievement.

Recipient: David Verdine

Facts and Comparisons Award of Excellence in Clinical Communication – For a student who is in the top 25% of the class and demonstrated superior verbal and written skills.

Recipient: Brian Choi

Mylan Excellence in Pharmacy Awards – Presented to a student who is in the top 25% of the class, and who has demonstrated high professional motivation and a unique ability to communicate drug information.

Recipient: Nicholas Segona

Lilly Achievement Award – Given to a student who has demonstrated superior scholastic and professional achievement.

Recipient: Margaret Helber

Merck Award – Presented to two students who have demonstrated excellence in clinical skills and time management.

Recipients: Lara Kratochwill and Rachel Saroka

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Graduation Award – Awarded to a student who has demonstrated efforts to minimize adverse effects due to inappropriate use of natural medicines and encourage an evidence-based approach to natural medicines.

Recipients: Alyssa Pignato and Amy Thien

McKesson Leadership Award – Given to a student who demonstrated critical leadership skills in the program.

Recipient: Stacy Cairns

American Institute of the History of Pharmacy – Presented to a student who displayed excellence in pharmaceutical history.

Recipient: John Banahene

APhA-ASP Senior Recognition Certificate – Given to the student who made the greatest contribution to the Wegmans School of Pharmacy APhA-ASP Student Chapter.

Recipient: Daniel Austin

Natural Standard Research Collaboration Award – Given to a graduating student who has demonstrated excellence in one or more of the following areas: perpetuating multidisciplinary, evidence-based research practices; or healthcare communication/information.

Recipient: Sean Stainton

PSSNY Award – Given to a student who took leadership roles in activities with the Pharmacists Society of the State of New York.

Recipient: Alexandra Pullano

USPHS Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award – Given to a student who has been recognized for their contributions to public health pharmacy practice. The award winner is also recognized for their involvement in public health issues in their community.

Recipient: Randy Rahiman

Excellence in Experiential Education – Given to the top 10% of students for their Core rotations.

Recipients: Stacy Cairns, Lara Kratochwill, Kari Kurtzhalts, Alyssa Pignato, Nicholas Sigona, Hiang To, Katie Viele, and Christian Volk.

During the hooding, the class also presented the School with a class contribution which will help fund scholarships for incoming pharmacy students.

Find more photos from the ceremony on the College's Facebook page.

Map & DirectionsA-Z Site IndexPeople Directory

Copyright © St. John Fisher College • 3690 East Avenue, Rochester, New York 14618 • (585) 385-8000
Questions/Comments? - Email the Webmaster Website Terms of Use