Make an appointment at the Health and Wellness Center

Contact Alcohol & Other Drug Services

Brittany Broderick
Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention Specialist

Office: Health & Wellness Center
Phone: (585) 385-7266
Email: bbroderick@sjfc.edu

Alcohol & Other Drug Education

CHOICES: Brief Alcohol Abuse Prevention Program for College Students

CHOICES is a 1.5 hour alcohol skills training workshop delivered to up to 10 students at a time in a group format. Students are given information about college drinking and the effects of alcohol. They are encouraged to identify strategies to avoid harmful drinking and to make safe choices.

2014/15 CHOICES Sessions

Note: All sessions run from 4:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.

    • Thursday, September 17, 2014
    • Tuesday, September 30, 2014
    • Thursday, October 15, 2014
    • Tuesday, October 28, 2014
    • Thursday, November 12, 2014
    • Tuesday, November 25, 2014
    • Thursday, December 10, 2014
    • Tuesday, January 20, 20
    • Thursday, February 4, 2015
    • Tuesday, February 17, 2015
    • Thursday, March 11, 2015
    • Tuesday, March 24, 2015
    • Thursday, April 1, 2014
    • Tuesday, April 14, 2015

BASICS (Brief Alcohol Screening and Intervention for College Students): A Harm Reduction Approach

BASICS is a highly flexible and personalized program for screening persons for alcohol and other drug problems. It is conducted over the course of two, sessions plus a follow up via email or in person, depending on student availability. BASICS has been recognized by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration as a “model program” of harm reduction associated with drinking among college students. If students or others referring them have concerns about use of other substances (e.g., marijuana), the screening and evaluation protocol addresses these substances, in addition to alcohol.

Referral for Other Services

If, in the opinion of the Health & Wellness Center professional staff, a student requires further evaluation and/or intervention of their drinking or other drug use behavior, they will be referred for additional services in the community.

Copyright © St. John Fisher College • 3690 East Avenue, Rochester, New York 14618 • (585) 385-8000
Questions/Comments? - Email the Webmaster Website Terms of Use