Dr. Mark Szarejko Faculty Information Literacy Award

Lavery Library is pleased to present the 5th Annual Dr. Mark Szarejko Faculty Information Literacy Award. This award is given to a St. John Fisher faculty member who actively supports information literacy. Any member of the St. John Fisher faculty is eligible, with the exception of the Library Committee members. This award is named for Dr. Mark Szarejko, 1980 alumnus, in recognition of his support for the library.

Mona Gandhi

The 2014 recipient of the Dr. Mark Szarejko Faculty Information Literacy Award Recipient, Dr. Mona Gandhi.

As the Drug Information Specialist in the Wegman School of Pharmacy, Dr. Gandhi is committed to developing information literacy skills in her students and encouraging the practice of these skills throughout the Pharm.D. curriculum. She has restructured the Drug Information course to incorporate demonstration and practice of fundamental information literacy skills including “lab” time with the science librarian, increased exposure to referencing techniques that discourage plagiarism, assignments that emphasize a variety of literature, and exposing students to the variety, reliability, and disparity of information.

Dr. Gandhi has developed a close connection with her science librarian, Michelle Price, where each brings their respective strengths into the classroom and beyond. Their mutual respect for each other’s specialized skills, proficiencies and limitations has led to a growing collaboration, benefiting student learning and resulting in a scholarship project that integrates each of their disciplines.

Additionally, Dr. Gandhi has supported the library by serving as Chair of the WSOP Library and Learning Resources Committee and as a member of the SJFC Library Committee. She has also extended the conversation in regard to pharmacy-related information literacy by presenting on the topic at various pharmacy association conferences including several poster sessions, two manuscript presentations, and a roundtable discussion.

For all these reasons, Lavery Library and the Library Committee have chosen to honor Dr. Mona Gandhi as this year’s Dr. Mark Szarejko Faculty Information Literacy Award recipient.

The Dr. Mark Szarejko Faculty Information Literacy Award

The award recipient is an advocate for information literacy, impacting SJFC students and other faculty to promote information literacy on campus and beyond. The following are the criteria exemplified by a worthy candidate for the Dr. Mark Szarejko Faculty Information Literacy Award:

  • Assignments/Courses: Creates or revises assignments with a consciousness of library resources
  • Collaboration: Seeks out opportunities to partner and collaborate with librarians. Promotes a connection between librarian and students
  • Curriculum Mapping: Incorporates progressions of information literacy skills throughout the curriculum of his or her discipline
  • Professional Development: Participates or consults on events/workshops/training sessions/working groups that include information literacy
  • Scholarship: Submits/publishes articles or presentations that include information literacy

To learn more about Information Literacy, please visit the Association of College and Research Libraries webpage.

Past Recipients

2013 Recipient

Michael Boller

Dr. Michael Boller

2012 Recipient

Dr. Stephen Brauer

Dr. Stephen Brauer

2011 Recipient

Susan Schultz

Dr. Susan Shultz

2010 Recipient

Kristin Picardo

Dr. Kristin Picardo

Copyright © St. John Fisher College • 3690 East Avenue, Rochester, New York 14618 • (585) 385-8000
Questions/Comments? - Email the Webmaster Website Terms of Use