Contact Marketing & Communications

Kate Torok, Director of Marketing & Communications
Phone: (585) 899-3801

Melissa Greco Lopes, Assistant Director of Marketing & Communications
Phone: (585) 385-8190

Press Release Detail

Four Members Inducted into Science and Technology Hall of Fame


Four Members Inducted into Science and Technology Hall of Fame

Four alumni were inducted into the St. John Fisher College Science and Technology Hall of Fame on Thursday, October 4, as part of the College’s Homecoming Reunion Weekend festivities. The event was held on campus in Cleary Auditorium.

Dr. Robert Tuite, Sr. ’56, Dr. Tom Bonfiglio ’64, Dr. G. Thomas Crombach ’65, and Dr. Michael Naughton ’79 were the inaugural inductees into the Hall of Fame, which was established in 2011 by the College’s alumni Science and Technology Affinity group. The purpose of the Hall of Fame is to recognize individuals who have made a significant contribution to science and/or technology, science education, medicine or health-related fields, or who are noteworthy for their service to their community or the College. There were nine nominees, and the winners were chosen by a committee. The Hall of Fame is located in the Skalny Science Center.

Science and Technology Hall of FameTuite, Sr., now semi-retired, is a Managing Partner and Co-Founder of the Innovation Strategy Group, a management consulting firm. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Illinois and then spent 35 years in various technical and managerial positions with Eastman Kodak Company. Tuite is an expert in imaging science, and holds nine patents and three research disclosures. In addition, he has extensively written and presented on the subject. A graduate of Harvard Business School’s Advanced Management Program, he has also given numerous presentations on entrepreneurship and executive leadership. In 2001, he established the Tuite Family Scholarship to support Fisher students with an interest and aptitude in the physical sciences.

Bonfiglio is Professor Emeritus of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the University of Rochester. He is internationally recognized for his contributions to cytopathology, and is Past President of the American Society for Clinical Pathology and the American Society of Cytology. Other honors he has received include the Ward Burdick Award of the American Society for Clinical Pathology, the Papanicolaou Award from the American Society of Cytopathology, Educator of the Year Award of the Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology, the President’s Award of the American Society of Cytopathology, and the James Regan Lectureship Award of the International Academy of Cytology.

Science and Technology Hall of Fame

Dr. Bonfiglio accepting his award.

Crombach is Professor Emeritus of Biology at Fisher, and retired in 2011. During his 44 years at Fisher, Crombach instructed thousands of students in nearly 20 different lecture and laboratory courses, developing at least half of those courses as new departmental offerings. He served as chair of the department from 1979 to 1994, and was instrumental in the department’s rapid growth. He also served the College in a variety of other capacities, including as Director of Residence, helping to establish the foundations of on-campus living and learning. Additionally, he served on numerous faculty committees, and was involved in a variety of student organizations. He was a two-time recipient of the Father Dorsey Award, given to a faculty member who is dedicated to the student life experience both in and out of the classroom.

Naughton is the Evelyn J. and Robert A. Ferris Professor and Chairman of the Department of Physics at Boston College. An experimental physicist, he is a Fellow of the American Physical Society. Naughton’s research focuses on experimental condensed matter and materials physics, and has attracted more than $20 million in funding. A widely published author with more than 150 articles, books, and papers, Naughton also has an extensive list of 30 patents and pending patents ranging from nanoscale magnetometry to nonmetallic landmine detection to solar cells. In addition, he is an entrepreneur and is the founder of two technology corporations.

Science and Technology Hall of Fame

Dr. Naughton accepting his award.

As part of the event, a group of the College’s Arts and Sciences Summer Research Fellows were there, presenting the research they conducted last summer to alumni and other attendees.

Science and Technology Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame inductees Dr. Michael Naughton, Dr. Tom Bonfiglio, Dr. Robert Tuite, Sr., and Dr. G. Thomas Crombach.

Map & DirectionsA-Z Site IndexPeople Directory

Copyright © St. John Fisher College • 3690 East Avenue, Rochester, New York 14618 • (585) 385-8000
Questions/Comments? - Email the Webmaster Website Terms of Use