Community Service Volunteer Opportunities

Senior First Generation Scholar Celebration

Sun., May 04, 2014 at 11:00 AM
By invitation only.

Event Details


Senior Service Scholar Celebration

Mon., May 05, 2014 at 3:00 PM
By invitation only.

Event Details


Muscular Dystrophy Association Summer Camp (Summer Volunteer Opportunity)

Sat., June 28, 2014 at 8:30 AM
The Muscular Dystrophy Association is currently recruiting volunteers to serve as camp counselors for their annual summer camp being held at Rotary Sunshine Campus in Rush, New York. Camp runs from Saturday, June 28 – Thursday, July 3, 2014. Contact Kathryn Reeners at (585) 424-6560 or kreeners@mdausa.org.

Event Details


Camp AmeriKids (Summer Volunteer Opportunity)

Mon., July 28, 2014 at 8:30 AM
Camp AmeriKids provides a traditional summer camp experience to children living with the challenges of HIV/AIDS and sickle cell disease. Volunteers are needed to serve as counselors as well as other camp support staff. Room and board is provided. Session One: Monday, July 28 - Monday, August 4
Session Two: Saturday, August 9 - Saturday, August 16 For an application and further information about volunteering, call Erica at (203) 658-9671 or visit the Camp AmeriKids website.

Event Details



Community Service Volunteer Opportunities by Appointment

Bethany House
Bethany House is a home for women and children who are in transition. Volunteers would be needed to read to the children, help stock shelves, prepare meals, etc. If interested, please contact Julie Chantra in Campus Ministry, (585) 385-8368 or jchantra@sjfc.edu for more details.

CP Rochester
Monday-Thursday: Volunteers needed to assist with swimming, classrooms, adult recreation, soccer clinics. If interested, contact Tina Bennett at (585) 334-6000 x321 or t_bennett@cprochester.org.

Foodlink
Up to 10 volunteers needed to sort, label, package, and distribute food. Please contact Jim at (585) 328-3380 x149.

Friendly Home
Volunteers needed for a variety of tasks including recreation, room visits, gift shop, etc. If interested, contact Linda Morrow at (585) 385-0219 or lmorrow@friendlyhome.org.

Habitat for Humanity
Monday-Saturday, 9-4pm: 6 volunteers per house, need a full day commitment or volunteer in their restore. Contact Teresa Bianchi at (585) 697-2012 or tbianchi@rochesterhabitat.org.

Mount Hope Cemetery Clean Up
Landscape volunteers help with routine landscaping maintenance (such as mulching, weeding, raking, and planting) and special projects. Events are held every 2nd Saturday of the month, from 9 a.m. - noon, April through November. In addition, the cemetery hosts other cleanups throughout the year. Contact Maria Fisher at (585) 428-7736 or visit the Mount Hope Cemetery website.

Rochester General Hospital
Volunteers are needed in a variety of ways including patient discharge, gift shop, etc. Contact Rick Palmiero at (585) 922-2927 or rick.palmiero@rochestergeneral.org.

Ronald McDonald House
Volunteer are need to clean, cook, sort food, and other tasks that may be needed. Contact Kathy Keenahan at (585) 442-5437 x3 or Kathy.keenahan@ronaldshouse.com.

Saints Place
Volunteer to assist refugees, while sorting through donations and delivering them to their homes. Contact Michele Quinn at (585) 385-6860 or Michele@saintsplace.org.

Salvation Army
Kitchen assistants, Thanksgiving and Christmas meals, Red Kettle Campaign, Angel Tree, Christmas Toy Shop Set-Up and Distribution of Toys. Contact Lindsay Kroboth at (585) 987-9500 x2318 or Lindsay.kroboth@use.salvationarmy.org.

Spirtius Christi
"Speaking from the Heart" is a coffee hour during which refugees are invited to converse with Americans who are open to them and supportive of their efforts to express themselves in English. The group meets every other Sunday from 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. at Spiritus Christi Church. Please Contact Karen Heavey at (585) 563-6829 or at evangola@gmail.com.

School 52
Volunteer in after school programs or volunteer within the classroom assisting teachers. Contact Bruce Pollock at (585) 218-0038 or bpollock53@rochester.rr.com.

Volunteers of America
Volunteers help in a variety of ways at different locations throughout the Rochester area. Contact Nicole King at (585) 402-7204 or nking@voawny.org.

Copyright © St. John Fisher College • 3690 East Avenue, Rochester, New York 14618 • (585) 385-8000
Questions/Comments? - Email the Webmaster Website Terms of Use