Contact the Office of Multicultural Affairs and Diversity Programs

Director: Yantee Slobert
Office: 117 Basil Hall
Phone: (585) 385-8378

News Detail

Student Employees of the Year Announced


On Thursday, April 19, three students received the Mary Ellen Milne Student Employee of the Year award during a luncheon to recognize all of the nominated students.

Antoinette Poole, Jeffrey Reisman, and Caitlin Taggart all received the honor, which is given to students who successfully complete assigned tasks, produce quality work, are dependable and knowledgeable of their jobs, work independently, and have exceptional communication skills.

Poole was nominated by Yantee Slobert from the Office of Multicultural Affairs and Diversity Programs. She worked in the office as a clerical assistant for the past seven semesters, providing day-to-day assistance with the operation of the office. One of her main responsibilities was to update the bulletin boards just outside of the office on a regular basis to showcase current diversity issues in the local, national, and global communities.

In addition, she was instrumental in creating a social networking presence for the office, which Slobert said has been a more effective way of communicating with not only the campus community, but the Rochester community as well.

In his nomination letter, Slobert said, “Antoinette is committed to the success of our department. She shows this by making herself available beyond her scheduled hours to assist with details of our events. She is responsible and dependable and, as the senior student worker, we rely on her to train the new students and assist them with the transition into the culture of our department.”

Libby Pinti, from the Office of Freshman Admissions, nominated Reisman for the award. He began working for Freshman Admissions as a Student Ambassador in his freshman year. According to Pinti, he immediately stood out as a leader in the Student Ambassador Program because of his flexibility, his willingness to take on extra tours, and his consistently positive attitude.

Because of his work ethic and dedication, he was asked to work during the summer months each year. In his summer role, he served as the lead Ambassador, coordinated registration at Information Sessions, assigned tour guides to campus visit groups, and performed numerous clerical functions. Today, he serves as the Director of Recruitment Events and Open House Programs within the Student Ambassador Program.

“I have watched Jeff grow over the past three years. He has always exhibited common sense and a level of maturity beyond his years. But he has developed other fine qualities while working for Admissions—such as diplomacy with fellow student workers and staff, patience, and great flexibility. He is a role model for any student worker,” said Pinti.

Taggart was nominated by Virginia Maier in the Health Professions Advising Office. Taggart has been Maier’s office assistant for the past four years, in fact, the two had their start at Fisher together!

“She has been an important partner to me in developing the programming and procedures of the office. She has been an exemplary employee—reliable, hard-working, creative, and independent,” said Maier.

Taggart has worked with Maier to research and identify more than 325 health professions alumni and the graduate programs they attended, with the goal of creating a significant network of alumni who serve as mentors for current students. In addition, she has served as the ‘face’ of Health Professions Advising at the information table at Admissions Open Houses answering questions posed by prospective students and their parents.

Mary Ellen Milne Awards

Award winners Caitlin Taggart, Jeff Reisman, and Antoinette Poole.

During the luncheon, four students received Honorable Mention:

  • Christian J. Gonzalez - nominated by Marianne Ermi in the Athletics Department
  • Dalton Hudson - nominated by John Maloney in Safety and Security
  • Taylor M. Reynolds - nominated by Brittany Broderick in the Wellness Center
  • Casey L. Thurston - nominated by Elizabeth Dorscheid in the Fisher Fund

Mary Ellen Milne Awards

Christian Gonzalez, Casey Thurston, Taylor Reynolds, and Dalton Hudson.

The winners were chosen by a committee of faculty and staff.

Mary Ellen Milne began working in the Counseling Center at Fisher in 1980, and worked there until she passed away in 1997. With this award, Fisher honors her memory and recognizes students for their selflessness, devotion, and drive – characteristics that Milne herself displayed.

Map & DirectionsA-Z Site IndexPeople Directory

Copyright © St. John Fisher College • 3690 East Avenue, Rochester, New York 14618 • (585) 385-8000
Questions/Comments? - Email the Webmaster Website Terms of Use